After Radiation

Am posting older writings, FYI. This was written the end of May, 2018.

I’ve been done with my radiation treatments for one week today. I’m so glad that I texted a friend the beginning of last week and asked how long it took to begin feeling better, because in my innocence and ignorance I am thinking, ‘Give me a few days, and I’ll begin to bounce back.’

Ha

She said, ‘Oh My friend, it took me months!

Months.

This first week I have actually felt worse, so weak BP/ pulse irregularities, fatigue beyond anything since I had mononucleosis.

Finally discovered I wasn’t drinking enough water, (everything tastes yucky, too to tired to go fill my water bottles.)

Yesterday my lovely daughter in law and youngest grand daughter did some shopping for us, and then delivered and put away what they brought. During this time I heard ftom dr about dehydration, and darling little Emmy brought me all three if my water bottles filled to the brim with fresh cool water.

After downing as much as I could , I began to feel more alert, and better almost immediately!

So grateful to the family that God has given me, and for their tender kindnesses to us during this difficult time in our lives.

June 22, Friday (continued).

Still fatigue has me in its grip. I get up, get dressed, do one thing, and head for the sofa for a nap. Wake up, read my devotions, pick up my latest project (crocheting string shopping bags and water bottle carriers), work until they feel too heavy, turn on worship music, eat my breakfast banana with a spoon of peanut butter for protein, and collapse back on sofa with my feet up on three pillows.

Read, browse Pinterest, watch a bit of news and check out FB.

Surprising how old these things get after a few weeks! Sometimes I get a wild idea and sit out on the patio and pet our cats. I do enjoy my time outside in Gods beautiful creation. A few years ago Roger showed some wildflower seed to the south of our patio. It has been interesting to see what volunteers each year. I found out that I have been pulling ‘weeds’ that are actually beautiful poppies in every shade of pink and red! So one good thing has come out of all this, too weak to pull ‘weeds’ that aren’t actually weeds!!

Reminds me of the verse in the Bible that says

Consider the flowers of the field…““Has anyone by fussing in front of the mirror ever gotten taller by so much as an inch? All this time and money wasted on fashion—do you think it makes that much difference? Instead of looking at the fashions, walk out into the fields and look at the wildflowers. They never primp or shop, but have you ever seen color and design quite like it? The ten best-dressed men and women in the country look shabby alongside them.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭6:27-29‬ ‭MSG‬‬

http://bible.com/97/mat.6.27-29.msg

So, balding, puffy steroid face, fatigue, all these things will pass, but Gods goodness never fails.

This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment