Cancer

Such common things become harder with cancer.  Early in March 1917 I was diagnosed with a brain tumor.  Within days I was scheduled for brain surgery and cancer cells appeared in the lab report.

Due to the placement of the tumor I have left side spacial issues.  Roger assures me that this is improving, but as I sit here typing and the last two fingers on my left hand consistantly hit the wrong key, I know I have a ways to go.

I have issues with my left foot also.  By doing my exercises from physical therapy I am getting better at walking, at balancing (never very good at that!), and feeling more stable.

Chemo and radiation play a part in the way I feel and act also.  When the technichians unsnap that stability mask, remove my knee support, take away by stability ring and I swing my knees over the edge of the table and rise, it is weird.  That is the only word for it.

I get tired.  I feel icky.  I get discouraged.

BUT

I am blessed beyond measure!  I have a loving patient husband who is steadfast and available.  I have a loving  family who support me the best they can.  I have a wonderful church family who have prayed and fed and visited and loved us in so many ways.

I have friends from all over who have contacted me with words of comfort, support and prayer.

Most of all I have the love of a Good, Good God.  I have His healing power and wisdom on my side, His comfort and His strength.

ONE YEAR LATER:

Here it is, March of 2019, and I’m still here. And I mean that literally! I’m down here In Denver at the university Hospital, Anschutz campus. This time with my husband Roger who is battling with blocked pancreatic and bile Ducts. He has to come down every 4 months to have stents replaced.

Pancreatitis is a beast. Can’t eat anything he really likes because it has fat or grease in it. The pain is excruciating and for awhile he feels fine, then that little bit of fat- and he is in agony.

Cancer treatments of radiation and chemo are passed. I Am So Thankful! They have left me with left leg and some hand issues. It could’ve UCHealth worse. I had to quit therapy because I could hardly walk with walker during treatment.

I fell – a lot. Bruised and scraped up I slowly regained the ability to walk. But by then I was off steroids and my old friend fibromyalgia came knocking at the door. Life goes on, one day, hour, minute at a time.

Through it all Jesus has become more and more precious to Roger and I. The body of believers has been so supportive and loving to us. Reading in the Bible is the best way to begin a day, praising God is key to feeling happy.

This entry was posted in Cancer. Bookmark the permalink.